Coverage is partial: we are adding localities as we verify records. A missing locality does not mean it has no data center activity.

Home / Virginia guides / Chesterfield County

Data centers in Chesterfield County, Virginia: a source-linked guide

4 projects · 4 dated records · last verified 2026-11-02. Built only from records we have opened; every fact links to its source.

Live tracker: projects and dated records for Chesterfield County. This page is the long-form guide.

At a glance

Projects tracked
4 (2 approved / permitted, 1 under construction, 1 operational (any part))
Dated records
4 (3 County planning; 1 DEQ air permit)
Official-source records
3 of 4
Last verified
2026-11-02

Projects in Chesterfield County

Google Project Peanut (2100 Bermuda Hundred Road)

Under construction; three buildings (county status July 2026)

Developer (as stated)
Google (per Richmond BizSense); county lists 'Peanut LLC'
Size (as stated)
300-plus acres; about 856,000 sq ft in buildings of about 285,000 sq ft each (filings per Richmond BizSense)
Sources
2 linked (News report, Official record) · last verified 2026-11-02
  • Construction started in 2026
  • first building expected operating late 2027
  • full build-out expected 2028 (Richmond BizSense)

Google Project Skye (4201 Moseley Road, Upper Magnolia Green)

Zoning approved (May 2025); first building expected 2027

Developer (as stated)
Google (per Richmond BizSense)
Size (as stated)
About 850 acres, four buildings planned (Richmond BizSense); county lists number of buildings as not specified
Sources
2 linked (News report, Official record) · last verified 2026-11-02
  • May 2025 rezoned for data center use
  • first-building construction anticipated 2027 and operation 2029 (Richmond BizSense)
  • proffers cap water at 1.755 MGD and require a buffer of at least 200 ft (Chesterfield County)

Google Project Loch (750 Watkins Centre Parkway)

Zoning approved (May 2025); site work expected early 2027

Developer (as stated)
Google (per Richmond BizSense)
Size (as stated)
About 350 acres, three buildings planned (Richmond BizSense); county lists number of buildings as not specified
Sources
2 linked (News report, Official record) · last verified 2026-11-02
  • May 2025 rezoned for data center use
  • site work slated for early 2027 (Richmond BizSense)
  • proffers cap water at 0.85 MGD (Chesterfield County)

Chirisa campuses at Meadowville Technology Park

Operational (existing buildings); more under construction

Developer (as stated)
Chirisa
Size (as stated)
County status table (July 2026): CTP-01 one existing building; CTP-02/03/04 two existing and one under construction; Digital Drive two buildings under construction
Sources
2 linked (Official record) · last verified 2026-11-02
  • Apr 9 2026 DEQ issued an Article 6 air permit (registration 52432-6) to Chirisa Richmond LLC (DEQ)

Timeline of dated records

2026-10-27
County planning Official record

County held a community data center forum at Brightpoint Community College's Chester campus; recording on the county's YouTube channel (county data centers page).

Source: chesterfield.gov ↗
2026-08-26
County planning News report

Deputy County Administrator Jesse Smith said at a press conference that the Board of Supervisors does not have an appetite for more data centers and staff would not recommend new applications; developers can still apply through the CUP process (Richmond BizSense, Aug 27, 2026). Not a formal Board vote.

Source: richmondbizsense.com ↗
2026-07-01
County planning Official record

County data center status table as of July 2026: Chirisa CTP-01 existing; CTP-02/03/04 two existing and one under construction; Chirisa Digital Drive two under construction; Peanut LLC (2100 Bermuda Hundred Rd) three buildings under construction; Upper Magnolia Green and Watkins Centre zoning approved; Old Bermuda Data Center (1931 Old Bermuda Hundred Rd) and Tradeport 95 (1250 Battery Brooke Pkwy) not approved, CUP required. Date shown is the first of July; the page says 'as of July 2026'.

Source: chesterfield.gov ↗
2026-04-09
DEQ air permit Official record

DEQ's list of issued air permits for data centers shows registration 52432-6 (Article 6 - mNSR) issued 2026-04-09 to Chirisa Richmond LLC in Chesterfield County. The list gives no project size or status; the entry says nothing about whether the facility is built.

Source: deq.virginia.gov ↗

How we sourced this page

Virginia localities control data center siting mainly through zoning, so Board of Supervisors and City Council records are the main local decisions; DEQ permits and SCC dockets cover air emissions and power. Official sources are preferred over news, and company claims are attributed. Full methodology.

Frequently asked questions

How many data center projects does Chesterfield County have on record?

Virginia Data Center Watch tracks 4 projects in Chesterfield County (2 approved / permitted, 1 under construction, 1 operational (any part)) and 4 dated public records, last verified 2026-11-02. Coverage is partial and a project missing here is not a statement that none exists.

What was the most recent recorded action in Chesterfield County?

2026-10-27: County held a community data center forum at Brightpoint Community College's Chester campus; recording on the county's YouTube channel (county data centers page). Source: chesterfield.gov.

Where do the Chesterfield County records come from?

3 of 4 records link to a government source. Source sites used for Chesterfield County: chesterfield.gov, deq.virginia.gov, richmondbizsense.com. Each record shows its own label (official record, company claim, news report or third-party tracker).

How do I get alerts for Chesterfield County?

Sign up free for the Friday digest (1 locality, free for your first month). Same-day alerts for up to 5 localities start at $4/mo with a 30-day free trial.

Spot an error or a missing filing? Email [email protected] with the source link.

Free

Get the free weekly digest for your locality

Free weekly email every Friday for your first month, for 1 locality you pick: new board and council actions, permits, filings and hearings, plus the week's top Virginia changes. Every item links to its public source.

Want it same-day? Neighbor, $4/mo.