Coverage is partial: we are adding localities as we verify records. A missing locality does not mean it has no data center activity.

Home / Virginia guides / Louisa County

Data centers in Louisa County, Virginia: a source-linked guide

3 projects · 5 dated records · last verified 2026-11-02. Built only from records we have opened; every fact links to its source.

Live tracker: projects and dated records for Louisa County. This page is the long-form guide.

At a glance

Projects tracked
3 (1 approved / permitted, 1 proposed / announced, 1 denied / withdrawn / canceled)
Dated records
5 (3 Company / land; 1 DEQ air permit; 1 Board of Supervisors)
Official-source records
4 of 5
Last verified
2026-11-02

Projects in Louisa County

AWS Lake Anna and North Creek Technology Campuses

Approved by right (Technology Overlay District); under development

Developer (as stated)
Amazon Web Services
Size (as stated)
Lake Anna campus about 150 acres next to North Anna Power Station; North Creek campus on parts of a 1,444-acre tract south of Route 33 (Engage Louisa newsletter; the county document says the by-right campuses total about 2,300 acres)
Investment (as stated)
$11 billion announced Aug 2023 for two campuses (Louisa County document)
Sources
2 linked (News report, Official record) · last verified 2026-11-02
  • Apr 2023 Technology Overlay District adopted
  • Aug 2023 AWS announced $11B for two campuses
  • Aug 2024 Board reduced the overlay and required a CUP for any new data center

EdgeCore campus at Shannon Hill Regional Business Park

Land purchased; campus planned

Developer (as stated)
EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure
Size (as stated)
697 acres; EdgeCore plans a 3.9 million sq ft high-density campus, closed-loop air cooling (Louisa County document)
Investment (as stated)
EdgeCore paid $42 million for the park (Louisa County document)
Sources
1 linked (Official record) · last verified 2026-11-02
  • Jun 24 2025 Louisa County announced the sale of the park to EdgeCore (Louisa County document)

AWS Fisher Chewning tract (third campus withdrawn)

Application withdrawn (Jul 2025); land acquired

Developer (as stated)
Amazon Web Services
Size (as stated)
About 1,920 acres near Northeast Creek Reservoir; earlier CUP application sought up to 7.2 million sq ft (29News; Engage Louisa newsletter)
Investment (as stated)
About $72 million land purchase (29News)
Sources
3 linked (News report, Official record) · last verified 2026-11-02
  • Jun 2025 AWS applied for a CUP for a third campus
  • late Jul 2025 AWS withdrew it (Louisa County document)
  • Jan 2026 AWS closed on the land (29News)

Timeline of dated records

2026-02-20
DEQ air permit Official record

DEQ's list of issued air permits for data centers shows registration 74299-2 (Article 6 - mNSR) issued 2026-02-20 to Amazon Data Services Inc - IAD - 550 Louisa REB in Louisa County. The list gives no project size or status; the entry says nothing about whether the facility is built.

Source: deq.virginia.gov ↗
2026-01-16
Company / land News report · AWS Fisher Chewning tract (third campus withdrawn)

29News reported AWS bought about 1,920 acres near Northeast Creek Reservoir for about $72 million; a supervisor said she would not support a third AWS campus. Date is the article date.

Source: 29news.com ↗
2025-07-31
Company / land Official record · AWS Fisher Chewning tract (third campus withdrawn)

In late July 2025 AWS withdrew its June 2025 conditional use permit application for a third data center campus (Louisa County document; exact day not stated, shown as Jul 31).

Source: louisacounty.gov ↗
2025-06-24
Company / land Official record · EdgeCore campus at Shannon Hill Regional Business Park

Louisa County announced the sale of the 697-acre Shannon Hill Regional Business Park to EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure for $42 million; EdgeCore plans a 3.9 million sq ft data center campus (Louisa County document).

Source: louisacounty.gov ↗
2024-08-01
Board of Supervisors Official record

In August 2024 the Board updated the Technology Overlay District ordinance, reducing its acreage and requiring a conditional use permit for any new data center project (Louisa County document; exact day not stated, shown as the first of the month).

Source: louisacounty.gov ↗

How we sourced this page

Virginia localities control data center siting mainly through zoning, so Board of Supervisors and City Council records are the main local decisions; DEQ permits and SCC dockets cover air emissions and power. Official sources are preferred over news, and company claims are attributed. Full methodology.

Frequently asked questions

How many data center projects does Louisa County have on record?

Virginia Data Center Watch tracks 3 projects in Louisa County (1 approved / permitted, 1 proposed / announced, 1 denied / withdrawn / canceled) and 5 dated public records, last verified 2026-11-02. Coverage is partial and a project missing here is not a statement that none exists.

What was the most recent recorded action in Louisa County?

2026-02-20: DEQ's list of issued air permits for data centers shows registration 74299-2 (Article 6 - mNSR) issued 2026-02-20 to Amazon Data Services Inc - IAD - 550 Louisa REB in Louisa County. Source: deq.virginia.gov.

Where do the Louisa County records come from?

4 of 5 records link to a government source. Source sites used for Louisa County: 29news.com, deq.virginia.gov, louisacounty.gov, tammypurcell.substack.com. Each record shows its own label (official record, company claim, news report or third-party tracker).

How do I get alerts for Louisa County?

Sign up free for the Friday digest (1 locality, free for your first month). Same-day alerts for up to 5 localities start at $4/mo with a 30-day free trial.

Spot an error or a missing filing? Email [email protected] with the source link.

Free

Get the free weekly digest for your locality

Free weekly email every Friday for your first month, for 1 locality you pick: new board and council actions, permits, filings and hearings, plus the week's top Virginia changes. Every item links to its public source.

Want it same-day? Neighbor, $4/mo.